Metro

Kevin Mirallas has admitted he expected to be sent off for his challenge on Luis Suarez in Saturday’s fiery Merseyside derby, as Football Association sources confirmed the Everton winger would not receive retrospective punishment.

The Belgian, who scored Everton’s opening goal in a 3-3 draw, was booked for clattering into Suarez in the 36th minute of the game, with Liverpool’s Uruguayan forward left with stud marks on his knee.

Reds boss Brendan Rodgers felt Mirallas should have been red-carded, and Mirallas has revealed he expected the worst.

MORE: Merseyside derby combined XI

‘When I made the challenge the first thing I thought was that it was going to be a red card,’ he said.

‘I was genuinely going for the ball but I know I caught him on the knee and I said sorry straight away.’

An angry Rodgers claimed after the game that is was the sort of tackle…

View original post 86 more words

